Time, spacelike foliations and timelike vector fields in GR

In summary: There's a theorem that says that a spacetime is globally hyperbolic if and only if it can be foliated with a set of "nice" spacelike hypersurfaces called achronal sets, which are basically just sets of spacelike curves that don't have any points in common. They have a nice geometric interpretation in terms of lightcones: in a globally hyperbolic spacetime, every achronal set is the boundary of a "nice" region whose boundary is the achronal set. (I'm not an expert on this stuff, so someone please correct me if I've said anything misleading or wrong.)In summary, the need for a hypersurface-orthogonal timelike Killing vector field
ShayanJ
Insights Author
Gold Member
Recently I've had some discussions about time in GR. I've always read in different places that people usually want a spacetime to have a hypersurface-orthogonal timelike Killing vector field so that they can assign a time dimension to that spacetime. But Why is this needed?
I can understand it that a hypersurface-orthogonal timelike vector field allows you to define the worldlines of some observers and the hypersurfaces will be their "space" in each instant of "time". So this seems natural. But why do we need it to be a Killing vector field? What's wrong with associating a time to a spacetime that tells you the spacetime is changing with that time?

What condition should a spacetime satisfy to allow a globally hypersurface-orthogonal timelike vector field?

Also, in GR, we work with Lorentzian manifolds, so the signature is always (-+++)(or the other equivalent convention). But sometimes the metric can't be diagonalized. So is it still as easy as checking the sign of the diagonal terms to check the signature? Can we always put a metric in form such that one of the diagonal elements is always negative(or positive in the other convention)?