Understanding r^t & a: Seeking Clarification on Raman Spectra

In summary, the conversation revolved around the meaning of the equation r^t a r = 1, which is used in studying Raman spectra. It was clarified that r^t represents r transpose and a is the diagonalized polarizability tensor. The equation is simply an ellipsoid, with the elements of the polarizability tensor determining its size and shape. This is useful in visualizing the polarizability.
chobo
Hi all, I am studying in Raman spectra and I don't know
that what's means r^t a r =1.
r^t is r transpose, r^t=(x,y,z).
And a is diagonalized polarizability tensor.
Whats means that is equal 1?
Just normailzation?
Help me,and so sorry my english is too bad...

Physics news on Phys.org
ref is
Spectra of atoms and molecules
Peter F. Bernath
ch.8

Last edited by a moderator:
Dr Claude/
Just defined ellipsoid? That is all?
I mean, what is Matmatical process that's eq.

The vector notation is just a shorthand. If you expand the vector-matrix-vector product, you will see that what you get is the equation for an ellipsoid, with the elements of the polarizability tensor determining the size and shape of the ellipsoid. This is clearest when the polarizability is diagonal, as seen in the book. The point of all this is to get a visual representation of the polarizability.

Likes Igael

1. What is Raman spectroscopy and how does it work?

Raman spectroscopy is a technique used to analyze the molecular structure of a substance. It works by shining a laser on a sample, which causes the molecules to vibrate and emit light at specific wavelengths. These wavelengths can then be measured and used to identify the chemical bonds present in the sample.

2. What does the "r^t" and "a" stand for in regards to Raman spectra?