University Acceleration: Skip Undergrad at UW? 16yo Self-Taught

In summary, this person spent four years as an undergraduate at MIT and is very skilled in a variety of mathematical topics. He does not have any impressive qualifications in computational theory or computer science.
Groat
At the university of waterloo is it allowed to skip undergrad courses and go straight into graduate work? I am 16 and have taught myself a great deal of the information already and have no interest in sitting through courses again.

Physics news on Phys.org
Groat said:
At the university of waterloo is it allowed to skip undergrad courses and go straight into graduate work? I am 16 and have taught myself a great deal of the information already and have no interest in sitting through courses again.

I have no idea... if any universities will let you straight into graduate school. You'd have take the GRE's first anyways.

That said, there are lots of classes to take in college, and if you are going to make a career out of your field of study, going over material multiple times is not lost time.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reid_W._Barton

This person spent four years as an undergraduate at MIT. There are countless other people like him; I simply remember him off the top of my head.

If you are that outstanding in your subject, the department should be thrilled to welcome you into advanced courses as an undergraduate.

Case closed. :D

zpconn said:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reid_W._Barton

This person spent four years as an undergraduate at MIT. There are countless other people like him; I simply remember him off the top of my head.

If you are that outstanding in your subject, the department should be thrilled to welcome you into advanced courses as an undergraduate.

Case closed. :D