Vector Motion and Perpendicular

In summary: Ok, makes sense. I understand that something will remain in constant motion until a force disturbs it and its state (Newton's First Law), and that force, of course, changes object velocity, but in reference to that "one should not think that a force is necessary for motion", I'm a little unsure of what you mean. Do you mean that an external force does not need to be applied in order to...cause motion?
NaukowiecGirl
Hello!
I'm currently studying Projectile Motion and Motion in Two Dimensions now in Physics class, and I happened to quickly jot down what my teacher said onto my computer. I came across the note and it says "Vector forces cannot be perpendicular to each other." I'm a little unsure of what is meant and I cannot ask my teacher, he's not here for a while. Please explain.

Physics news on Phys.org
It sounds like what you wrote down was either misheard, or is omitting some important context. There is no general rule that forces cannot be perpendicular. Every time a horse pulls a cart, the cart is subject to two perpendicular forces: gravity pointing down and the horse pulling forward.

Likes NaukowiecGirl
NaukowiecGirl said:
Hello!
I'm currently studying Projectile Motion and Motion in Two Dimensions now in Physics class, and I happened to quickly jot down what my teacher said onto my computer. I came across the note and it says "Vector forces cannot be perpendicular to each other." I'm a little unsure of what is meant and I cannot ask my teacher, he's not here for a while. Please explain.

you must give the context of that statement ...on the face of it the statement does not carry any sense as there are no scalar forces and all forces can be designated by a vector ...more over the force can act in any direction so perpendicular forces can exist...say you are pushing a block on a table the force of push and the reaction of table surface are perpendicular and are physically independent.

Likes NaukowiecGirl