Vintage HP calculators are still popular

• Calculators
  • Thread starter jtbell
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Calculators
In summary, the conversation discusses the longevity and value of the HP 11C calculator, which has been in use for over twenty years despite being discontinued in 1989. The speakers also mention purchasing newer calculators such as the HP 50g and the Canon TP-8, but find that the older HP 11C still holds its value, with some models selling for over $200 on eBay. One speaker also mentions finding an HP 11C in their cousin's garage, but being unable to locate it now.
jtbell
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
I've been using an HP 11C for over twenty years. I bought it sometime after I started teaching here (1985) and before HP discontinued the 11C (1989). I now use TI's at work so as to be compatible with my students, but I still use the 11C almost daily at home.

I just looked on eBay and found a nearly-completed auction for an 11C with a high bid of just over $100. That's about what I paid last week for an HP 50g (the current top of the line) on clearance at Best Buy! Also, there are a couple of 15C's (similar to the 11C but can also do matrices and complex numbers) about to go for over $200.

Computer science news on Phys.org
I found a HP 11C in my cousin's garage and took it. But now I can't find it!

I have a Canon TP-8, it's circa 70s or 80s, and it still prints. Doesn't seem to be worth much though.

1. Why are vintage HP calculators still popular among scientists?