What areas of nano/optical research applies to astrophysics?

In summary, the speaker is an undergraduate with access to a well-equipped optical spectroscopy and nano-materials physics lab and a professor offering a significant amount of co-research time. However, their main interest is in astrophysics and they are wondering if there are areas of research they can do with the professor that will provide applicable knowledge and skills. They do not want to waste the opportunity for quality research, but also do not want to jeopardize their chances for graduate school. The lab has a range of equipment that could be useful for hyperspectral imaging design, which is expected to be highly useful in the future for robotic exploration of the solar system. The speaker will look into this suggestion.
astroman707
I'm an undergraduate and there is a very good optical spectroscopy and nano-materials physics lab at my college. I have FULL access to all equipment and a professor in that field is offering me a ridiculous amount of co-research time during the school year. However, I'm really only interested in astrophysics.
My question:
*Are there areas of research that I can do with the professor that will give me knowledge and/or skills that will be applicable to some area of astrophysics? *
I don't want to waste an opportunity to do A LOT of quality research as an undergrad, even though it's not in my field of interest. But if it won't look good to graduate schools, I won't waste my time.

****I don't know if it helps, but here is a list of the equipment available in this specific physics lab.****

*Photoluminescence Spectrometer Fluorolog-3
* UV-VIS Micro-Spectrometer with polarization capabilities
* Raman Micro-Spectrometer with polarization capabilities
* Fourier Transform Infrared Micro-Spectrometer with ATR objective
* Ellipsometer
*Wavelength Dispersive X-ray Fluorescence Spectrometer
*Differential Scanning Calorimeter
* Abbe Refractometer, NAR-1Tsolid