What is convection in a serpentine flow field?

In summary, the conversation discusses the use of the word "serpentine" in an essay about memories, written by a former physics professor. The phrase "convection in a serpentine flow field" is used, which raises confusion as to how it relates to the subject being written about. Some suggest it could be a metaphor for confusion or a process of understanding, while others question the accuracy of the word "field" in the phrase. Overall, it is concluded that the author may have been using the phrase as a scientific metaphor, rather than a literal description.
nothing02
Hi all. Rather than a physics student, I'm a translator, and tucked into a piece I'm translating from Japanese is an obscure (to me) physics reference. The sentence goes something like, "It seems a type of convection is taking place amid the serpentine flow of my memory." If someone could explain to me in the plainest possible English what this refers to, keeping in mind I have no physics background past high school, I would much appreciate it!

Physics news on Phys.org
What is the subject being written about in the document generally and what is the text before and after that particular phrase ?

nothing02 said:
serpentine

serpentine is a type of rock ... is it a geology book ?

"Serpentine" means wavy, meandering, this way & that, like the motion of a snake, as opposed to direct, in a straight line. It's hard to imagine "convection in a serpentine flow field". It sounds like the author is trying to use a scientific metaphor, perhaps without a clear idea of the science.

Likes sophiecentaur
mjc123 said:
"Serpentine" means wavy, meandering, this way & that, like the motion of a snake, as opposed to direct, in a straight line. It's hard to imagine "convection in a serpentine flow field". It sounds like the author is trying to use a scientific metaphor, perhaps without a clear idea of the science.