What is the solution for calculating population growth with mice?

In summary, the conversation discusses a question about modelling single species population dynamics for a final exam. The problem involves determining the word equation, differential rate equation, and solving for the mice population at any time in terms of the initial population. The conversation also talks about finding the equilibrium solution, long-term solution, and time interval in which the population is greater than or equal to zero. The conversation also mentions the struggle in finding information and the correct units for the problem.
patrickmoloney

Homework Statement

Hey guys I'm struggling to find much information of modelling single species population dynamics that relates to this question. A question like this is going to be coming up in my final exam and I need to be able to solve it. I'm struggling to even know where to start. I'm completely new to modelling populations. help would be much appreciated.

A population, initially consisting of [itex]M_0[/itex] mice, has per-capita birth rate of [itex]8 \frac{1}{week}[/itex] and a per-capita death rate of [itex]2\frac{1}{week}[/itex]. Also, 20 mouse traps are set each fortnight and they are always filled.

(a)Write down the word equation for the mice population [itex]M(t)[/itex]
(b) Write the differential rate equation for the number of mice.
(c) Solve the differential rate equation to obtain the formula for the mice population [itex]M(t)[/itex] at any time [itex]t[/itex] in terms of the initial population [itex]M_0[/itex]
(d) Find the equilibrium solution [itex]M_e[/itex]
(e)Find the long-term solution with the dependence on [itex]M_0[/itex]. What happens when [itex]M_0 = M_e[/itex]
(f)Find the time interval on which [itex]M(t)\ge 0[/itex] with dependence on [itex]M_0[/itex]
No idea what's being asked here. I can't seem to find any information. It doesn't help that there is no decent books about this online that can be found easily.