What should a chemistry undergrad do to move toward an Engineering MS

In summary, it sounds like you may want to consider a different degree. There are many engineering programs out there, some with fewer pre-reqs than others. It would be worth talking to your advisers and professors at Richmond to see if they can help you find a program that is a better fit for you.
ehchandler
Hello - I am a student at the University of Richmond. I went to the university in order to get a chemistry degree to provide a solid pure science foundation for a later graduate engineering degree. I am realizing now that that might have been a mistake, as I was looking at Georgia Tech's Chemical Engineering undergraduate degree as well as their Materials Science undergraduate degree, and there would be at least 13 or 14 classes that I would not be able to take at Richmond. I am interested in Materials, Mining, Metallurgical, and Mineral, and to a certain degree Chemical Engineering, and I thought I had three years to figure out what I wanted to do in Graduate school, but now it seems a little dire. Is there anyway aside from transferring schools to not have to take, as it seems right now, a minimum of 2 years in remedial classes if I want an engineering degree of the types mentioned above in Graduate School?

Thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
I can only say I had the same predicament going from physics to EE. I had so many EE pre-reqs to take that a BS in EE was a better choice than an MS in EE.

Hopefully you find a better way. Talk to your adviser, the adviser for the MS program you want and your professors/classmates about it.

Thanks Modus. I have talked to my advisers, but I should add that Richmond is a Liberal Arts school with only Law, Buisiness, and Education Graduate degrees, and no engineering Undergrad or Grad, so I guess it would be worthwhile to email the faculty at a engineering school?