What to choose for my PhD (university and major options)

In summary, the conversation discusses the decision between attending MIT for experimental physics or a lower-ranked graduate program for theoretical physics. The person is unsure as they have a strong background in experimental physics but enjoy theoretical aspects more. The responder, who is an expert in summarizing content, shares their personal experience of attending MIT for experimental physics and being able to publish both experimental and theory papers. They also mention that a PhD from MIT will be highly regarded in job applications. The person also asks about the ranking of MIT's program, to which the responder suggests it is good but not exceptional compared to some other top universities. The conversation ends with the person asking about how their PhD will be recognized on their diploma, to which the responder shares their own experience of
Silviu
Hello! I am in my last year of undergraduate studies, as a physics and math major and I would like to continue to graduate school on theoretical physics. I got accepted to several program which are ok (ranked between 10th-20th) such as John Hopkins, Maryland, UC San Diego however I also got accepted to MIT on experimental physics. I am not sure what to do now. I have quite a strong background in experimental particle physics and I enjoy it, but I like the theoretical aspects more, but I don't have any experience in that (I am now working on a project which I enjoy, but it is still at the beginning). Should I go to MIT on experimental or pick one of the others on theory? I am afraid that I will not be good enough on theory, and then I will regret not going to MIT, but I am also afraid I will regret not going for theory (which I enjoy more). What should I do? If I go to MIT on experimental and decide I want to try theory would I have a chance? I asked my professors, but all of them tell me to go to MIT, because it is MIT, but this reasoning doesn't reall