Which elective is the better choice for a fluid-focused ME graduate student?

In summary, a ME graduate student is trying to decide between two electives: Nonlinear Control Systems and Advanced Heat Transfer. While Nonlinear Control Systems seems interesting, the student is unsure how it relates to fluids, whereas Heat Transfer has clear overlap but may be less engaging. The student has yet to take a heat transfer course in graduate school, but has taken a nonlinear dynamics class. After receiving input, the student decides to take the Heat Transfer class.
johnnyTransform
Hi all,

I'm a ME graduate student concentrating in fluids and I'm trying to decide between two electives. The two I'm looking at are Nonlinear Control Systems or Advanced Heat Transfer. Nonlinear controls looks interesting, but I'm not sure how it could tie in with fluids...as opposed to heat transfer which obviously has its cross-over, but looks much drier. I have yet to take a heat transfer course in graduate school, whereas I did take a nonlinear dynamics class last semester. Any input is appreciated!

Physics news on Phys.org
johnnyTransform said:
Hi all,

I'm a ME graduate student concentrating in fluids and I'm trying to decide between two electives. The two I'm looking at are Nonlinear Control Systems or Advanced Heat Transfer. Nonlinear controls looks interesting, but I'm not sure how it could tie in with fluids...as opposed to heat transfer which obviously has its cross-over, but looks much drier. I have yet to take a heat transfer course in graduate school, whereas I did take a nonlinear dynamics class last semester. Any input is appreciated!
Take the heat transfer class, unless you want to switch your ME concentration from fluids to controls.

Likes johnnyTransform
Short and to the point--very good! Thanks. I went with the Heat Transfer class =)

Good luck with it.

1. What factors should I consider when choosing between electives?