Which program is best for me to learn?

In summary, Octave is best for people who want to do things like plotting graphs and solving equations, while Matlab is best for people who need to do more complex math.
richyw
Hi, I'm in my third year of a physics program, and lately I have really been struggling to figure out what program would be best for me to learn.

There are so many options out there. Octave, Scilab, Freemat, Matlab and then Maxima, Mathematica, Maple, etc.

So my understanding is that the first group I listed is quite different from the second, and it's best for someone to learn one from each category?

Right now, what's important to me most is just doing stuff like plotting graphs and solving equations. I guess mostly for my math classes. I have been using octave as like a general purpose calculator, but that's about it.

Is the second group more useful for me for what I need to do right now? The other day I was trying to check my work for differential equations. I basically had a family of ODE's and I could not figure out how to get maxima to find the solution to the ODE (I was trying to make the bifurcation diagram).

So I guess my question is "which of these two programs should I commit to learning as an undergraduate student with NO prior experience, or do I only need to learn one?"

Physics news on Phys.org
ok so since you want to plot stuff and may need to learn MATLAB then I suggest FREEMAT since its a MATLAB clone supporting the MATLAB core language and core functions.

Its what I used to do Comp Physics projects. It was really great at generating simple charts. Eventually though you may need to go to MATLAB but delays paying the $100 until you really need it.

For other kinds of programming there's Processing at Processing.org for java based graphics apps. Easy to use.

Does your program recommend one or just leave it to you?