Who are the Iconic Characters in Physics and Mathematics?

In summary, the conversation is about a person who is writing a novel and is researching the history of science, specifically physics, astrophysics, and mathematics. They are looking for characters from famous problems in these fields to include in their story. They mention Schroedinger's Cat and Maxwell's Demon as examples and ask for suggestions from the community. The conversation also briefly touches on the concept of Bayesian analysis and references to Dennis the Menace and the Feynman Lectures.
Krakatit
Dear PF Members!

This is my first post.
I've been reading these boards for some time now and the community as well as the pool of information is great and very inspiring.

I realize this post may have seem better posted in fantasy section, however, I hope the discussion taking place focuses on physics problems.

The reason I registered is, I'd like to ask you all for help. I am an author wiritng a novel and in middle of research on various fronts. One of them is history of sciences, especially physics, astrophysics and mathematics. I am a keen reader of popular literature on the topic (Greene, Hawking, Kaku, etc) but my knowledge only goes so far.

The problem is, I am looking for characters used in explanations of various physical or mathematical problems - think Schroedinger's Cat, Maxwell's Demon or Pearson's traveller through time.
During the course of the story I'm developing, main character builds up a party of companions like the one's mentioned above. I need at least four characters with certain "special" abilities and so far I have only Maxwell's Demon.

It would be a tremendous help and greatly appreciated if you could add anyone you might remember that appeared in some problem described by a physicist or mathematician.

Thank you very much in advance!

Physics news on Phys.org
I don't see why Schroedinger's Cat can't be a companion :smile: