Why this Simple Watt Meter for a 220 Volt Circuit works?

In summary, the conversation discusses a circuit for a wattmeter that uses resistors to measure power. The circuit includes two 470m resistors as current shunts and a resistive divider with values of 33k and 7k5. There is also a version of the circuit with one resistor value changed. The conversation also mentions the calculation for the voltage drop across the 33k resistor and the possibility of using a different value for the 7k5 resistor to improve accuracy. It is also noted that the current shown in the circuit may not accurately reflect the power being measured. Overall, the conversation highlights the complexities of creating a true RMS wattmeter.
henriquevpp
TL;DR Summary
Help with a wattmeter for 220V circuits that have only resistors.
Hello guys!

I'm just a begginer student. I found this circuit of a wattmeter that works only with resistors. Can someone explain to me how the 33k resistor give a voltage of 1 mV to 1 Watt? I did not understand why these resistor values has been chosen and why the it measures only in the 33k resistor.

Link: https://everycircuit.com/circuit/5290189996163072/simple-watt-meter-for-220-volt-circuit

I made a version (only changing one resistor value) at Fasltad: http://tinyurl.com/y7uqu8n4 (the url was too big).

Can someone help me? Thank you!

Attachments

• 1589328541380.png
    1589328541380.png
    5.2 KB · Views: 185
Engineering news on Phys.org
The two 470m resistors are 0.47 ohm current shunts in parallel, so they drop a voltage proportional to the current flowing in the light globe load. Vshunt = I * 0.235

That small AC voltage is attenuated by the resistive divider, 33K and 7k5 to be measured.
The supply voltage is reasonably fixed so the small AC voltage across the 33k is proportional to the load power.

Likes dlgoff, Merlin3189 and henriquevpp
1 watt will have a load current of 1 / 220 = 4.545 milliamp.