Would a particle at the edge of the universe have an infinite amplitude

In summary: The equation my teacher mentioned. A=±F/√[(1-Ω2/wn2)2 +[(cwn/k)(Ω/wn)]2]Which basically states without dampening a particle will approach its natural frequency giving it an infinite amplitude. This equation is from Intermediate Dynamics, which is a class in classical physics. Modern physics covers energy levels of particles and quantum tunneling, but this equation is related to a simple harmonic oscillator. Without dampening a particle, it will get an infinite amplitude. But this would violate the conservation of energy, so it's not really possible.
clearwater304
First off let me state that I'm just a mechanical engineering student, so I'm not too savvy when it comes to quantum physics, but my teacher was talking about this equation in class and it reminded me about infinite wavelengths near the egde of the universe and the event horizon on a black hole.

The equation my teacher mentioned.

A=±F/√[(1-Ω2/wn2)2 +[(cwn/k)(Ω/wn)]2]

Which basically states without dampening a particle will approach its natural frequency giving it an infinite amplitude.

Take this into consideration with gravitational redshift, you have a downhill region (inside black hole), an uphill region (outside of black hole), and a region at the top of the hill (event horizon).

Redshift relates to z=(observed wavelength-wavelength at emmision)/(wavelength at emmision)

So if you can get the wavelength at emission equal to zero, you can get an infinite redshift.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gravitational_redshift

My understanding is a particle with an infinite wavelength would have no oscillation. If all particles in this region have no oscillation there would be no dampening. If there's no dampening, the particles would approach an infinite amplitude. But if this is true, wouldn't it violate the conservation of energy?

Physics news on Phys.org