What Are the Key Challenges in Understanding Convolution in Signal Processing?

• Thread starter WolfOfTheSteps
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Convolution
In summary: An Impulse Responseis the output of an LTI system when the input is the unit impulse: \delta[n] = 1 for n = 0, and 0 otherwise. That is, we send a unit impulse through the system (a single 1 at time 0) and see what the output is. this is usually called h[n] . It's the system's "natural response" to a sudden pulse. So h[n] = \mathbf{LTI} \left\{ \delta[n]
WolfOfTheSteps
Hello. I'm studying signals and systems on my own this summer and I'm trying to get a good grasp of the convolution. I think I understand it mathematically enough to do some problems, but I don't have a firm grasp by any means. I'm studying both discrete and continuous time cases. Before I get to my questions, here is how I understand things in my own words (if any of this is off, please correct me):

Sifting Property

[tex]x(t) = \int_{-\infty}^{+\infty}x(\tau)\delta(t-\tau)d\tau[/tex]

The value of a signal at a time t can be found by summing the product of the impulse response and the signal at all times. Since the impulse response will be 1 only at time t and 0 everywhere else, you will "sift" out only that value of the signal at time t. (1 times the signal at time t will just be the signal)

Impulse Response

Written as [itex]h(t)[/itex] in my texts (Oppenheim and my Schaum's), the impulse response is just the output of a system at a time [itex]t_0[/itex] when the input is the unit impulse [itex]\delta(t-t_0)[/itex].

In other words, I just think of the impulse response as what you get out of a system if you send it a 1 at a certain time.

This is where I may be confused. I'll ask a question about this below.

And finally:

The Convolution

If you know the impulse response of a system at a time t, you just have to scale it by the value of x(t) to get the response of the system to x(t). For the system y(t):