Collapse of the wave equation

In summary, Wave Particle Duality is a concept in quantum mechanics which states that all systems can exist in multiple states at once, described by a wavefunction. However, upon measurement, the system appears to collapse into a single state. This phenomenon, known as wavefunction collapse, is not fully understood and has been a topic of research and debate. Some theories suggest that it is a result of quantum decoherence, where the system interacts with the environment in an irreversible way, causing the observed collapse. Other interpretations, such as the Copenhagen Interpretation, simply accept the collapse without further explanation.
lntz
i am an A-level physics student (high school if you're american) and for a research topic i have chosen wave particle duality. i have been able to explain the ideas of diffraction, double slit experiments, photo electric effects and electron diffraction easily enough, but we are expected to take our research one step beyond a-level standards, and to do this i wanted to talk about 'the collapse of the wave function' however i am not convinced i truly understand.

i'd appreciate it if somebody could help me out by explaining the ideas behind this, without getting too technical or with any seriously complicated maths that is likely to be beyond me.

thanks in advance for any help you can give

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi, Intz. I'll try to be as clear as I can.

As you probably have seen during your studies, any system in Q.M. is described by a wavefunction, which in turn evolves according to the Schrödinger Equation. That evolution describes all the possible states the system will occupy, in a way.

The wavefunction that describes any system is frequently found in a superposition of those states. That is, the system is literally in all its possible states at the same time, with each state contributing a little bit to the final wave.