Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I 2 definitions for voltage, how are they equivalent?

1. Sep 22, 2018 #1
    So I'm studying electrostatics and I came across to two different definitions of potential difference/voltage (because we're in stationary regimes) and I'm having trouble understanding how the expressions are equivalent.

They are for a voltage between point A and point B

$$U=V_a - V_b =\int_{a}^{b} \textbf{E} \cdot d\textbf{s}$$

and, on the other hand,

$$U= V_b - V_a = - \int_{a}^{b} \textbf{E} \cdot d\textbf{s}$$

How can both of this expressions represent the potential difference between points A and B? Aren't they symmetric?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 22, 2018 #2

Doc Al

Staff: Mentor

Not quite sure I understand the question.
    The sign of the potential difference depends on which point you're measuring with respect to:
    ##V_a - V_b = - (V_b - V_a)##

4. Sep 22, 2018 #3
    My question is that in both cases the expression is presented as "the potential difference between points a and b". However if I use both definitions will I obtain the same result or will I obtain symmetric results? I'm thinking the later is probably the correct one but now that leaves me with other question: shouldn't the second expression be the potential difference between points b and a?

5. Sep 22, 2018 #4

Mister T

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

What does ##U## stand for?

##V_b-V_a \neq V_a-V_b## except for the trivial case of ##V_a=V_b##.

6. Sep 22, 2018 #5
    U is the voltage between points a and b.

Exactly that's my doubt, are both expressions correct?

7. Sep 22, 2018 #6

Mister T

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

$$V_a - V_b =\int_{a}^{b} \textbf{E} \cdot d\textbf{s}$$

and,

$$V_b - V_a = - \int_{a}^{b} \textbf{E} \cdot d\textbf{s}$$

But they cannot both be equal to ##U## at the same time, except when ##U=0##.

8. Sep 23, 2018 #7

Tom.G