Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A Bit Confused About Polar Basis Vectors

1. Aug 22, 2014 #1

MrBillyShears

Gold Member

Let me say from the beginning I'm not talking about the non-coordinate unit vectors for polar coordinates. I'm talking about basis vectors. Let me just ask it as boldly as possible: how does one use these basis vectors in order to describe a vector? I know they are different at every point, so which point do you use? Is it completely arbitrary? Why is there different basis vectors at every point? And, I am new with this kind of stuff, so try to keep it as simple as possible in your explanation.
    And also, if so, if you pick [itex]\vec{r}[/itex] to describe your vectors, would the "tails" of your vectors come from the origin, or from your point [itex]\vec{r}[/itex]? And, if someone could give an example with numbers, that would be great.

Last edited: Aug 22, 2014
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 22, 2014 #2