How Can Uniform Random Variables Simulate a Markov Chain?

• MHB
  • Thread starter power3173
  • Start date
In summary, the first question is about how to simulate a Markov chain with a given state space and transition matrix. The second question is about finding the mean recurrence time of a given state in a Markov chain. The answers to these questions can be found by using the inverse transformation theorem and the recurrence relation.
power3173
Hi people,

I am a newbie in Markov chains and I have difficulty to solve some questions. I would appreciate very much if I get some help:

1) First question is about: I am given a sequence of U1, U2,U3,... of independent random variables, uniformly distributed on the unit interval (0,1). I am asked to describe how this sequence can be used to simulate Markov chain with state space {0,1} and transition matrix (p11,p12,p21,p22) starting in state 1.

2) Second question is about: an Markov process {Xt} with state space S={1,2,3}, and generator Q (a 3X3 size matrix), starting in state Xo=1. I am asked:
a) Finding limits (t goes to infinite) lim P(Xt=j), j=1,2,3.
b) Finding the mean recurrence time of state 1, i.e. finding expected value of T, where T=inf {t>J1 : Xt=1 | Xo=1} and J1 denotes the time for the first jump.

Thanks in advance...

Physics news on Phys.org
Let's start with question 1).
Uniformly distributed random variables are often used to simulate random variables and thus also stochastic processes. What you need here is a theorem known as 'the inverse transformation theorem'. Since we're working with Markov chains we need a discrete version of the theorem.