Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A question about Adam & Eve concerning genetics.

1. Jul 21, 2005 #1
    I am not good at biology and genetics so I need your help about something I've read.

In the article it is said that using the genetic code information and the mithocondrial DNA, which i specific for females and males, it is concluded that the first female (EVE) has lived 143.000 years ago in Africa and the first male (ADAM) has lived 59.000 years ago in Africa too.

According to this article it is said that Eve's husband was somebody else, which had some other genetic code and the resulting genetic code we have today is some kind of mix.

If you have some explanation (or links) about how this is concluded and how scientists look at this hypothesis it would be very kind of you if you post it here.

Thank you in advance!

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 21, 2005 #2
    I do not know what exactly it is that you want to ask. Perhaps you can tell us what article you are talking about?

I expect the article is concerned with mitochondrial DNA and y-chromosomes. Female ancestry can be traced via mitochrondrial DNA, because you exclusively inherit this from you mother. For males, male ancestry can be traced via the y-chromosome since males only get this from their fathers (females do not have an y-chromosome).

4. Jul 21, 2005 #3
    I guess that what might seem to be a problem is that the common female ancestor is not from the same time as the common male ancestor. This seems to be a paradox, only because of the inconsistent terminology that is used.