A Question About Newton's Third Law

  • #1

Main Question or Discussion Point

Please excuse the newbieness of this question. I recently began studying physics. Does Newton's third law apply in the game of Croquet when one applies force to a static ball between the club and a second ball, thus causing the second ball to continue the force applied by the static ball?
 

Answers and Replies

  • #2
905
4
Please excuse the newbieness of this question. I recently began studying physics. Does Newton's third law apply in the game of Croquet when one applies force to a static ball between the club and a second ball, thus causing the second ball to continue the force applied by the static ball?
Actually it's a question of momentum transfer. In this case, force is the means by which momentum is transferred. Yes, Newton's Third Law does apply; indeed it is always true. The force applied by the club gives the first ball momentum, and the first ball applies a force to the second ball, thus transferring its momentum to that ball. But the reaction force of the second ball (via Newton's Third Law) stops the first ball.
 

Related Threads on A Question About Newton's Third Law

Replies
26
Views
1K
Replies
3
Views
1K
  • Last Post
Replies
13
Views
3K
Replies
3
Views
5K
  • Last Post
Replies
8
Views
2K
  • Last Post
Replies
6
Views
2K
  • Last Post
Replies
7
Views
2K
  • Last Post
Replies
2
Views
704
  • Last Post
Replies
4
Views
1K
Top