Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A x ( B x C )=(A∙C)B-(A∙B)C

1. Sep 1, 2015 #1
    I have to prove the above equation.
    I tried:
    $$\bigl[ A\times ( B\times C) \bigr]_i=\sum_{jk} \varepsilon_{ijk}A_j\biggl[ \sum_{ij}\varepsilon_{ijk}B_iC_j\biggr]$$
    In order to reach the k'th member of (BxC) but i tested it with i=1 and saw that in the member:
    $$\biggl[ \sum_{ij}\varepsilon_{ijk}B_iC_j\biggr]=\biggl[ \sum_{1j}B_1C_j\biggr]$$
    And it can't be that B1 is inside the sum since it has to receive also other values.
    Then i tried:
    $$\bigl[ A\times ( B\times C) \bigr]_i=\sum_{jk} \varepsilon_{ijk}A_j\biggl[ \sum_{ij}\varepsilon_{ijk}B_iC_j\biggr]_k$$
    But it doesn't enable me to open the [] brackets, or does it? i am new to this

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 1, 2015 #2

mfb

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor

The first approach is confusing i and k.
    The second approach is better, but you still have to rename indices to remove the brackets (j is used twice).

4. Sep 1, 2015 #3

stevendaryl

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

You have to be careful about distinguishing between bound (or "dummy") indices and free indices. Your expression is wrong because on the left-hand side is a free index, [itex]i[/itex], but on the right-hand side, there is no free index.

I think that you would be better off just brute-forcing this. Just write out explicitly:

[itex](A \times (B \times C))_1 = A_2 (B \times C)_3 - A_3 (B \times C)_2[/itex]
    [itex](B \times C)_2 = B_3 C_1 - B_1 C_3[/itex]
    [itex](B \times C)_3 = B_1 C_2 - B_2 C_1[/itex]

5. Sep 1, 2015 #4
  6. Sep 5, 2015 #5
    $$\bigl[ A\times ( B\times C) \bigr]_i=\sum_{jk} \varepsilon_{ijk}A_j \sum_{lm}\varepsilon_{klm}B_lC_m=\sum_{jk} \varepsilon_{ijk}A_j \varepsilon_{klm}\sum_{lm}B_lC_m$$
    I try i=1:
    $$\bigl[ A\times ( B\times C) \bigr]_i=\varepsilon_{123}\varepsilon_{312}A_2 B_1 C_2$$