Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Aerospace Aerospace engineering vs. Mechanical engineering

1. Jun 28, 2010 #1
    Hi everyone.

I am entering first year university in aerospace engineering, and since I've heard that job positions are limited in canada in aero filed, im wondering if i will be able to work in some mechanical engineering position after i get my degree. ( I know that these two are similar, and even some MEs are able to work on space industry afterward. ) I'd really appreciate it if someone helps me. I really like my program, but i would think of switching into mechanical if there will be a hard time getting a job when i finish school.

and also, does anyone know how the job market is in aerospace engineering in Canada?! I currently live in Ottawa, but I would welcome relocating as well.

Thanks.

Samir

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 28, 2010 #2
    I got my bachelors degree in ME specifically for this reason after talking to aerospace engineers at an internship. With the market as it is today, I'm very glad I did because I can always fall back on it. I stayed and got an MS in aerospace, so that I could also work in that field. You can certainly do the same plan I did, but you will have to learn alot of aerospace on your own in grad school to catch up if you want to be good.

There is also the factor that I took a few aero electives in undergrad, and I loved them. While that might seem like a good thing, the problem was I then had disdain for the rest of my ME courses. I would have had much more fun in the aero department as an undergrad. So do forget to weigh in the missery factor.

But, then again, I can always fall back on an HVAC job in rough times......so in some ways that 'pain' was worth it.

4. Jun 29, 2010 #3
    Thanks for the information,