Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Ansys Workbench Help (creating load in center of body)

Tags:
  1. Oct 16, 2012 #1
    I'm just learning how to use Ansys Workbench 13 to analyze static structures. I need to analyze the deformation of a simply supported beam with a concentrated force in the center vertically downward. I have a 3D model of this beam created in Solidworks.

How do I create a force in the center of the beam?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 16, 2012 #2

Mech_Engineer

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

You need to split the solid model into parts such that there will be a vertex (and therefore a mesh node) where you want the force. Then simply select the vertex using your selection filter and apply the force to the point.

If you want to avoid contact conditions, also consider creating a multi-body part in DesignModeler using the appropriate commands. This will create a solid which is split into sub-solids for the purposes of meshing and force application, but does not require contact conditions for a solution.

4. Oct 17, 2012 #3
    Thanks for your help!

I need to avoid surface contact, so the two bodies function as one part and one mesh. Sorry if the follow questions seem mundane, but I'm having a hell of a time finding good Workbench tutorials.

1. When I open a new project, double-click "structural analysis", what is the proper step to proceed? Since my model is already created in SolidWorks, I am currently performing: right-click on "geometry" -> "import" -> "cantilever beam.SLDPRT". Is this correct?

2. Do I take my Solidworks part and split it in Solidworks, then import to Workbench and use some sort of multi-body command in "geometry" to combine the two bodies into one part? Or do I import my Solidworks part, then split into two bodies in Workbench?