Any suggestion for general physics books for a beginner?

In summary: IT student is trying to decide whether to continue with physics after reading a book by Stephen Hawking. He finds the subject interesting but finds it difficult to understand. He recommends Six Easy Pieces and Six Not So Easy Pieces, Understanding Physics by Isaac Asimov, It's About Time by N. David Mermin, and Gravity and Thirty Years that Shook Physics by George Gamowi. He also recommends head first physics if someone wants to learn mechanics quickly.
johira
I'm an IT student. I hated physics in high school and always wanted to skip physics classes,but recently after reading Stephen Hawking's book "the grand design" i think I'm interested in physics. i found this interest shocking but i can't help it. i want to read more and more. when i start reading "the grand design" i was really eager to understand the concepts cause it was the first physics book that i was reading, although i tried i just understood some parts,but i kept reading and finished it.
Now i want to make my knowledge in physics strong so if i read another book i could understand it well.
what are some general physics books that you can suggest to me in order to gain knowledge about the basic of physics?

Physics news on Phys.org
johira said:
what are some general physics books that you can suggest to me in order to gain knowledge about the basic of physics?

Six Easy Pieces and Six Not So Easy Pieces, both by Richard Feynman.

Understanding Physics by Isaac Asimov
Space, Time and Things by B. K. Ridley
It's About Time by N. David Mermin
Gravity and Thirty Years that Shook Physics by George Gamow

i second understanding physics by isaac asimov and anything by george gamov. gravity was great. these books aren't standard books when compared to textbooks, but they can't be beat for getting the ideas of physics across, as well as historical developments.