Applications of Symplectic Geometry

In summary, symplectic geometry has a wide range of applications in physics and engineering, including optics, dynamics, Hamiltonian systems, and control theory. It provides a powerful language and mathematical framework for understanding and modeling physical systems, and has also proven to be useful in practical applications.
djohannsen
I am a mathematics graduate student who is doing research in symplectic geometry (specifically symplectic toric orbifolds, symplectic reduction, Hamiltonian actions of tori in the symplectic category, etc). I often have tried to convince others of the importance of symplectic geometry, so I come here seeking some help. I know, of course, that the language of classical mechanics is really that of symplectic geometry. I've also heard tell that there is a branch of optics that uses the language and machinery of symplectic geometry. However, I am hoping to come up with a list of very specific (dare I say engineering'ish) applications. Can anyone suggest some very specific applications of symplectic geometry to physics and engineering? I would be grateful for any replies.

Dave

Physics news on Phys.org