What is the Limit Definition for Proving a Function Approaches 0?

In summary, a first-year calculus student is struggling to understand a problem related to a function approaching 0 at a number between 0 and 1. They provide a diagram and solution from the textbook but are looking for a simpler explanation. The proof involves considering numbers that could make the statement false and choosing a delta value so that the function is smaller than 1/n except possibly at the given number. The author notes that it is not necessary to have a formula for delta in terms of epsilon.
freshlikeuhh
Hi. I'm a first-year calculus student and I'm fairly behind with my work. The transition is tough and when i read my textbook, I don't fully absorb everything. I thought I would post an example problem whose solution I do not follow completely, since it is fairly important in the scope of things.

I have provided a diagram for this problem and the solution provided by the author. If anyone would be able to explain to me in simpler terms how the conclusion was reached, I would greatly appreciate it.

EDIT: I have previewed my post and found some very weird issues when trying to use LaTeX, so I have removed the [tex [/tex] brackets, since everything displayed very improperly. I am not very experienced with LaTeX, so there may be something I am doing wrong, so if anyone could point that out, I will gladly fix up the presentation of my post.

But here is the problem:

http://i.imgur.com/nDyAv.jpg

For any number a, with 0 < a < 1, the function f approaches 0 at a. To prove this, consider any number \epsilon > 0. Let n be a natural number so large that \frac{1}{n} \leq \epsilon. Notice that the only numbers x for which |f(x) = 0| < \epsilon could be false are

\frac{1}{2}; \frac{1}{3}, \frac{2}{3}; \frac{1}{4}, \frac{3}{4}...; \frac{1}{n},...,\frac{n-1}{n}