Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Best books for students of aerospace?

1. Oct 31, 2006 #1
    Hey everyone,

I'm a 1st year aerospace student, signed up for a 3 year bachelor of science degree. I'd just like to know what are the best books on various subjects in aerospace, such as aerodynamics, mathematics, mechanics etc. Obviously i already have some textbooks which my school recommended, but i'd like to expland my understanding of everything i learn and so i'm looking for books by experts in the various fields. I'm kind of a 'junkie' for details. I'm especially interested in recommendations concerning the mathematics... it's not one of my strongest subjects and right now i only have one book, called 'Calculus - Early Transendentals' by James Stewart. Am i right that calculus is basically the cornerstone of aerospace engineering? Please excuse me for asking such a simple question, i'm only like two months into this degree. Anyway i'm sure alot of you have come across some very good books in your studies and careers. Thanks for your time.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 1, 2006 #2
    Hello,

Yes calculus is certainly essential to aerospace engineering; calculus is the basis for physics and physics is the basis for engineering/aerospace.