1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

B Binoculars and light amplification

1. Feb 21, 2016 #1
    http://www.rocketmime.com/astronomy/Telescope/Magnification.html

im studying from above how image is magnified in a binocular or telescope.
    In binocular say 7X. can you say light is amplified or jus magnified? if amplified, is it 7 times? if just magnified and not amplified. how come using binocular on the sun can blind person faster than naked eye?

also for example you are viewing buildings at daytime and suddenly you see the sun reflected from the building glasses... is the effect like looking at the sun directly.. or how much reduction if not same exposure?

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 21, 2016 #2
    Hi @cube137 It's definitely magnified. If you think back to the way you can burn things with a magnifying glass, you're taking all of the solar energy that would normally hit the ground over the area of the magnifying glass, and focusing it into a tiny area. Same goes for looking at the sun through a telescope; if you stare at the sun unaided with just the area of your pupil letting in light you'll go blind. Pump in rays from the area of the telescope lens through your pupil and you'll go blind more quickly!

I think (open to challenge) if you want amplification, you would need to be adding additional light from another source - think of the analogy of how a guitar amp works; takes in a small voltage and amplifies it to a larger one, but you feed it additional voltage from an external source.