BS Mathematics to Phd Quantum Mechanics?

In summary, the speaker is a junior undergraduate student majoring in mathematics with a passion for quantum mechanics. They are considering pursuing a master's and PhD in the field, despite not having a physics background. They have experience in programming and artificial intelligence, as well as a strong interest in group theory, differential forms, and p-adic analysis. They are seeking advice on the feasibility of their goal and have received mixed opinions from their advisor and others. They are also aware of the subject GRE and recommendation letters as requirements for admission to graduate programs. The speaker has read a thread on the topic and feels it contains most of the information they need, but are also considering taking qualifying exams at their schools of interest to gauge their preparedness.
AlephOne
Dear friends,

I'm presently a junior math undergraduate, and my ultimate goal is to do my master's/PhD work in quantum mechanics, specifically exploring possibilities of temporal superposition for advanced quantum computing.

The question is if it is doable to go from a bachelors in mathematics to a master's and PhD in quantum mechanics. I've known a few people to do it before, but it seems that programs are getting more restrictive all the time. Unfortunately it is too late to change my major to physics without doing another year of undergrad, which I cannot afford to do.

I do well in mathematics, and I love it. It's also worth noting that other skills are in play: I've been a programmer specializing in artificial intelligence for quite some time. I've worked for robotics companies, defense contractors, and so on. Lots of life experience, just decided it was time to finish school and go for what I really wanted: quantum mechanics. I bring up these other skills because they could come into play for consideration in grad school.