Building a DIY multimeter for my school project

In summary, a multimeter is needed for a school project, but the user does not know how to build one. The user wants help.
Projecthelp243454
TL;DR Summary
I need to build a DIY multimeter for my shcool project but i have no clue how to, please help
Hello all,

I am a college student from the UK and as part of my course i have to do a project, I have been given a project to do which is to Design a portable electronics circuit that can be used for training. It must be;
Able to measure current, voltage and resistance.
Operate on 10 Volts DC, but plugged into the mains. (You will need to rectify and transform it down.)
Have a maximum of 5 resistors that can be in series, parallel and complex.
I have a tight budget and any help would be welcome,
Thanks

Modify message

Engineering news on Phys.org
Projecthelp243454 said:
Summary:: I need to build a DIY multimeter for my shcool project but i have no clue how to, please help

Hello all,

I am a college student from the UK and as part of my course i have to do a project, I have been given a project to do which is to Design a portable electronics circuit that can be used for training. It must be;
Operate on 10 Volts DC, but plugged into the mains. (You will need to rectify and transform it down.)
I have a tight budget and any help would be welcome,
Thanks

View attachment 264056
Welcome to the PF. :smile:

Fun project! Your thread may get moved to the DIY forum or the Schoolwork forums at some point, FYI.

You can't build a DMM with just resistors. Do you have an Arduino or other microcontroller (uC) with an on-board ADC or something to use for digitizing? What voltage, current and resistance ranges are you required to support? What is the required accuracy?