Building a DIY multimeter for my school project

Summary:

I need to build a DIY multimeter for my shcool project but i have no clue how to, please help

Main Question or Discussion Point

Hello all,

I am a college student from the UK and as part of my course i have to do a project, I have been given a project to do which is to Design a portable electronics circuit that can be used for training. It must be;
Able to measure current, voltage and resistance.
Operate on 10 Volts DC, but plugged into the mains. (You will need to rectify and transform it down.)
Have a maximum of 5 resistors that can be in series, parallel and complex.
I have a tight budget and any help would be welcome,
Thanks

Modify message

Answers and Replies

berkeman
Mentor
Summary:: I need to build a DIY multimeter for my shcool project but i have no clue how to, please help

Hello all,

I am a college student from the UK and as part of my course i have to do a project, I have been given a project to do which is to Design a portable electronics circuit that can be used for training. It must be;
Operate on 10 Volts DC, but plugged into the mains. (You will need to rectify and transform it down.)
I have a tight budget and any help would be welcome,
Thanks

View attachment 264056
Welcome to the PF. :smile:

Fun project! Your thread may get moved to the DIY forum or the Schoolwork forums at some point, FYI.

You can't build a DMM with just resistors. Do you have an Arduino or other microcontroller (uC) with an on-board ADC or something to use for digitizing? What voltage, current and resistance ranges are you required to support? What is the required accuracy?

And on the AC Mains power thing, do you have a safety-approved "wall wart" AC transformer that you can use as a building block? If you have no experience with AC Mains power, it is very dangerous to be trying to build something from scratch without close Mentorship and safety supervision.