1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Calculate integral using Cauchy's formula

1. Mar 26, 2014 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Let ##K## be a circle ##|z-2|=2##. Using Cauchy's formula calculate ##\int _K\frac{(z-1)\sin(z)}{z^2-2z-3}dz##

2. Relevant equations

Cauchy's formula: ##f(a)2\pi i=\oint _k\frac{f(z)dz}{z-a}##

3. The attempt at a solution

It's my first time dealing with this kind of problems so I am not really sure that what I am doing is in fact the right way to do it. I would be really happy if one could check my solution.

##\frac{(z-1)\sin(z)}{z^2-2z-3}=\frac{(z-1)\sin(z)}{(z-3)(z+1)}## therefore ##a_1=3## and ##a_2=-1##.

For ##a_1=3##:

##f(z)=\frac{(z-1)\sin(z)}{z+1}##

##f(a)2\pi i=\oint _k\frac{f(z)dz}{z-a}##

##\frac{2\sin(3)}{4}2\pi i=\int _K\frac{\frac{(z-1)\sin(z)}{z+1}}{z-3}dz##

For ##a_2=-1##:

##f(z)=\frac{(z-1)\sin(z)}{z-3}##

##f(a)2\pi i=\oint _k\frac{f(z)dz}{z-a}##

##\frac{-2\sin(-1)}{-4}2\pi i=\int _K\frac{\frac{(z-1)\sin(z)}{z-3}}{z+1}dz##

##-\pi i\sin(1)=\int _K\frac{\frac{(z-1)\sin(z)}{z-3}}{z+1}dz##

Since ##K## is a circle with center in 2 and radius 2, point ##a_2=-1## is not inside ##K##. Which means that only integral around ##a_1=3## counts and therefore

##\int _K\frac{(z-1)\sin(z)}{z^2-2z-3}dz=\int _K\frac{\frac{(z-1)\sin(z)}{z+1}}{z-3}dz=\frac{2\sin(3)}{4}2\pi i##.

I HOPE so. Thanks in advance!

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 26, 2014 #2

vela

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Education Advisor

You have the basic idea down, but what you wrote below is incorrect.

For the given K and the way you chose ##a## and f, you can't say that