Calculating Acceleration on an incline plane?

In summary, the conversation is about a first year engineering student struggling to understand how to calculate acceleration on an inclined plane. The student is working on a problem involving a truck with a given mass and velocity on a ramp with a known angle, and is trying to find the distance it will take for the truck to stop. The student knows that this is a vector problem and that they need to calculate the forces involved, but is unsure how to find the acceleration with the given data. They receive a recommendation to check out a tutorial for help.
ricosuave317
Hi, I'm a first year engineering student and I'm having a hard time understanding this concept. How do you calculate acceleration an an incline plane? Currently I'm working on a problem that has a truck with a mass of 2430 kg traveling at a velocity of 85 mph up a ramp inclined from the x-axis at an angle of 15 degrees. The problem asks me to calculate the distance it will take the truck to stop, brakes and friction are not factors. I know that this is a vector problem and that I need to calculate the force of the truck and the force of gravity. My first problem is that I don't know the acceleration of the truck, only the velocity, is there a way to calculate the acceleration using the data I have provided? Any help would be much appreciated, currently I'm in over my head.

Physics news on Phys.org
Thank you for your help, the tutorial helped clear up most of my questions.

ricosuave317 said:
Thank you for your help, the tutorial helped clear up most of my questions.
No problem, feel free to post your remaining questions here.

1. How do you calculate acceleration on an incline plane?