Calculating speed and reversing inertia

In summary, the conversation is about a programmer seeking help with calculating the final position of an object in an animation sequence. The issue is that the object needs to slow down and stop at a specific position, but the programmer is having trouble determining the expected distance and using the correct formula to adjust the speed. Suggestions are made to use a non-linear formula for acceleration or to adjust the acceleration coefficient based on the velocity of the object at each time interval.
SeanCocteau
Hi

I'm a programmer and while my maths is OK, my understanding of physics is not the best so apologies in advance if I'm missing something obvious. My problem is an interaction and animation sequence I'm writing, the user can swipe an object from one position to another. No problem here. The issue is that I need the object to 'dock' to a specific position, again no problem calculating the final resting position.

My problem is that I applying inertia (I decrement the detected speed on each animation cycle so this value is undeterminent) causing the object to slow and then stop once it hits a specific figure. Originally I thought I could calculate the 'expected distance' the object would travel to, but I believe that I did not have enough parameters to do this, only the speed and deceleration value. To calculate the expected distance, I create a second loop, decrement the speed but adding to the expected distance until it hits the stop speed. Not overly elegant, but it returns the correct figure.

However, to get the object to end at a specific position I need to reverse this calculation, adjusting the speed of the object so it lands in the appropriate position. At the moment, I've been using Vf^2 = Vi^2 + 2ad but this hasn't been providing the correct values so far.