Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Can an Ultrasonic wave penetrate a LPG cylinder

1. Aug 13, 2015 #1
    Hey guys, First time poster here.
    Presently I'm doing a project to measure the levels of LPG remaining in an LPG cylinder. I'm currently trying out ultrasonic sensor that primarily works as a distance sensor(HCSR04). As far as I'm aware, the lower the frequency higher the penetration of the wave hence I'm using the 40KHz sensor. But I'm not getting any results and I'm not technically adept enough to measure the second echo either. It would be helpful if you guys could help me out with the necessary details regarding my problem. Alternate suggestions to my problem are also welcome

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 13, 2015 #2

NascentOxygen

Staff: Mentor

Hi darklord27. :welcome:

"not getting any results" is a rather sweeping statement. Can you elaborate, and describe what you have been attempting?

4. Aug 13, 2015 #3
    Okay, The sensor I'm using is an HCSR04 ultrasonic distance sensor that uses a 40KHz wave. I've been trying to get it penetrate the Cylinder by placing it on its surface first. The echo returns back in no time. I've been thinking of using an impedance matching agent such as a fine gel but there is a good possible chance of damaging the sensor. I'm having doubts on using the sensor as such since it is made to measure distance i.e detects only the first echo. The things I need to know are.

1. Is it possible to penetrate the Cylinder using ultrasound sensors?
    2. If so, what frequency and bandwidth should I use?
    3. Brief Idea about the complexity of the circuitry required.
    4.Any alternate methods that i could refer to for my purpose if this isn't the way to go forward.

The questions are many and my knowledge about what I'm into is low. Please bare with me .

Regards.

5. Aug 13, 2015 #4

davenn

Science Advisor
    Gold Member