1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Can I be a successful Physicist?

1. Nov 10, 2011 #1
    Hello all,

I am currently a sophomore in college, with two declared majors; Astrophysics and Applied Mathematics.

Next quarter I'll be taking Contemporary Physics, Fundamentals of Astrophysics, Calculus 4 and an Electronics lab. Thus far I have barely passed each Physics class I've taken. I just don't seem to have the mind to get the mathematics behind it, which is odd because I've gotten an A in every math class I've taken thus far [Calc 1-3 and Discrete Mathematics]. I understand all of the concepts well, I can explain ideas to my PolySci roommate in a way she can understand... but when it comes to the math I just... suck.

I have a passion for Astrophysics more than anything else, but I have a hobby of learning other languages and apparently have a knack for it- all my friends say that I should be a linguist or Foreign language major instead. For reference, I know Spanish, Zulu, quite a bit of Serrano [Mojave Desert Native Americans] and I'm currently taking German and Arabic at the same time, and know a good handful of words/ phrases in other languages. Admittedly my English sucks.