Engineering Physicist interview with SLAC

In summary, the accelerator physicist has had an interview with the recruiter and has been given a technical interview with the hiring manager.
Raffaello
Hello. I am an accelerator physicist with a couple of years of experience. I've already had an interview session with the recruiter. Then, they sent me an email saying that I will have a technical interview with the hiring manager. I've never had physics interviews before because my research center hired me directly from the university.
Can you please suggest what kind of questions I need to expect?
Thank you in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
You're welcome to PF.

Likes Raffaello
Look at the job posting, line by line. If someone were to ask you a technical question about any one of those, what would you say?

Raffaello said:
Hello. I am an accelerator physicist with a couple of years of experience. I've already had an interview session with the recruiter. Then, they sent me an email saying that I will have a technical interview with the hiring manager. I've never had physics interviews before because my research center hired me directly from the university.
Can you please suggest what kind of questions I need to expect?
Thank you in advance.
I'm of limited help here (I'm more helpful with EE interview questions), but do you know all of the experiments currently being run at SLAC? Have you read all of the papers published for their experiments for the past 5 years or so? I would start there, since the questions they ask will likely either be related to those experiments, or the technical questions they ask will be about the physics and experimental methods involved in those experiments.

https://www6.slac.stanford.edu/research

Good luck, and let us know how it goes. :smile:

Likes DeBangis21
Raffaello said:
I will have a technical interview with the hiring manager
Did you have the interview yet? How did it go? :smile:

berkeman said: