1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Homework Help: Cant get units to work out for Momentum Density

1. Feb 11, 2010 #1
    Excuse the question but im stuck on this for the past hour.

Im studying Zweibach's "A first Course in String Theory".
    From the Nambu-Goto Action he derives the wave equation which consists of the term

[tex] \frac{\partial \mathcal{L}}{\partial \dot{X} ^{\mu}} &= -\frac{T_{0}}{c}\frac{\dot{X} \cdot X')X'_{\mu}-(x')^{2}\dot{X}_{\mu}} {\sqrt{(\dot{X} \cdot X')^{2} - (\dot{X})^{2}(X')^{2}}} \equiv \mathcal{P}^{\tau}_{\mu} [/tex]

Now this [tex] \mathcal{P}^{\tau}_{\mu} [/tex] is referred to as the momentum density and is used as such later on in the book:

[tex] p_\mu(\tau) = \int ^{\sigma _{1}}_{0} \mathcal{P}^{\tau}_{\mu}(\tau , \sigma) d\sigma [/tex]

Im confused because I would expect [tex] \mathcal{P}^{\tau}_{\mu} [/tex] to have units of Mass divided by time, if \sigma has units of length, or units of momentum, if \sigma is dimensionless, so that when you integrate over \sigma you get units of momentum.

But as far as I can see [tex] \mathcal{P}^{\tau}_{\mu} [/tex] has units of mass times length. I get would think this becuase the lagrangian density has units of ML^2/T and it is differentiated with respect to velocity, thus it takes units of ML.

Can someone help with this?

Thanks.

B

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 11, 2010 #2
    The author is following the common mechanical notation that the momentum is equal to the velocity derivative of the Lagrangian. However, you error is that the Lagrangian has units of kg m^2/s^2 (not kg m^2/s), so taking the velocity derivative divides those units by m/s giving kg m/s, which are the correct units of momentum.

4. Feb 11, 2010 #3
    Thanks a lot for your reply!