How can I balance my career goals and graduate school without accumulating debt?

In summary, the individual is considering going to graduate school part-time while working on obtaining a Level 4 CGA and other professional designations. They are also considering the option of skipping graduate school and focusing on their other fields. The individual loves mathematics and wants to attend graduate school, but has concerns about living below the poverty line and accumulating debt. They are seeking advice and opinions on their decision.
JasonRox
Homework Helper
Gold Member
Well, my senior year is fast approaching and I'm not putting aside the decisions I need to make at the last minute.

I have a year left for my Bachelor's of Science in Mathematics. I would like to go to Graduate School, but part-time. Here's why I think it would be good for me and you make a notion on whatever you like. I'm here to listen to opinions hopefully more constructive advice.

So, before going to university I went to a community college. I went for 2 years in an Accounting program, but did not get a diploma because I transferred before completing my third year. I went into Mathematics at the local university.

Anyways, so technically, I'm really close to obtaining a Level 4 CGA (Certified General Accountant). I never knew this, but I looked into it because as graduate school kept getting closer and closer, I just felt uncomfortable knowing how I will most likely be living under the poverty line for quite a while, and might even have a relative debt load. Another thing is that, after work with professors and seeing how money is raised, I personally dislike it. Writing proposals for grants and all that crap, like seriously.