1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Career Change Advice

1. Jul 13, 2004 #1
    This question is for any professors out there that have a spare moment.

I'm 25 years old and finally realizing what my heart is and where it lies. I'm starting to understand what motivates and drives me, and I have to say my current career path just isn't it.

I got double major in finance and international business with a minor in economics during my undergraduate days, because back in 1997, that was the hot thing to be in. Now while that was all interesting and good, and I learned alot about how the world works, I have to say I was a mediocre student at best. Even so, I still managed to pull a 3.15 GPA. Aside from that, my sister was influential in all the wrong ways. She is older and in finance and totally driven by money, and I figured that at the very least, I'd have a career that could provide me with decent prospects. I was a follower because I didnt know any better.

Well boy was I wrong. I dont have any heart in what I'm doing now. The days go on by and I cant say I've been productive for society at all. I've been at my sales assistant job now for a little over a year, and it's the least stimulating thing I've ever done in my life.

As a kid I grew up with the chemistry sets and the telescopes. I have HeNe and Argon lasers in the attic. I know I have this in my blood. I just didn't have the courage to go into the science field. But being older and wiser now, I think I've found that. I just dont know how to segway from finance into physics.