1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Challenging Free Body Diagram Problem (Statics)

1. Jan 29, 2016 #1
    Screen Shot 2016-01-29 at 8.30.10 AM.png 1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Given the picture, find theta, and the magnitude of the force going from point A to B.

I have asked multiple people how to solve this problem and they have no idea, I end up getting 2 equations with 2 unknowns but then when I try to solve for theta I get 70cos(theta) - 80sin(theta) = 30 or something like that and idk what to do with that.

I'm a tutor at my college so I get how someone might just want to half way give me the answer and let me solve the rest of it because most of the time you learn more that way, but with this problem, I think it would be best is someone could just walk me through it, I've already stared at it for hours with multiple people/teachers and we can't get it.

Thanks to anyone that attempts this! I really appreciate it!

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 29, 2016 #2

BvU

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Re idk: But you do know that ##\cos\alpha \cos \beta - \sin\alpha \sin\beta = \cos(\alpha+\beta)## so dividing left and right by ##\sqrt{70^2+80^2}## should help you solve your goniometric equation....

4. Jan 29, 2016 #3
    hmm, i'll try that and see if it works. I just realized that it's actually 70.6sin(theta) - 30cos(theta) = 30, so how would that trig identity change?

Thanks

5. Jan 29, 2016 #4

BvU

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Use symbols, not numbers.

##a \cos \beta - b\sin\alpha = c ## becomes ##\cos\alpha \cos \beta - \sin\alpha \sin\beta = \cos(\alpha+\beta)## if

##\cos\beta = {\displaystyle a\over\displaystyle \sqrt{a^2+b^2}}##,