1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Chemical Engineering and Thermodynamics

1. Sep 11, 2014 #1
    Hi all,

I'm a recent graduate of chemistry that wanted to be in chemical engineering but couldn't afford the schools around my location that offered it. While I spend a few years working and saving, I want to get ahead of the curve with the subject before I return to school.

Would any kind Chem. Eng.'s be willing to recommend me some starter and intermediate textbooks? I'm also looking for a solid statistical thermodynamics textbook that would be in depth and hopefully include exercise solutions, as well as an advanced thermodynamics textbook with a focus on applications.

Thanks in advance to anyone who replies.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 11, 2014 #2

Maylis

Gold Member

Last edited by a moderator: May 6, 2017
  4. Sep 16, 2014 #3
    Hi winter. With your chemistry degree you should have a good background in math, physics and chemistry to further your studies in chemical engineering.

I consider the core chemical engineering courses to be the following:

o Material and energy balances
    o Thermodynamics
    o Momentum, heat and mass transfer
    o Reactor design
    o Unit operations
    o Process design

There are many electives that help round out the chemical engineering curriculum but this core provides a solid foundation.

If you have any questions or would like recommendations for textbooks for any of these courses please let me know.

5. Sep 16, 2014 #4
    Hey Smittron, thanks for the core outline!