Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Circuits with fans, should be pretty easy.

1. Jun 26, 2006 #1
    I'm not an engineering major but I've got a fair amount of knowledge about circuits. I have a few questions about the diagrams below.

I am connecting two fans to 2 computer USB Ports. A single USB port puts out 5v at 500 milliamps. The fans are unfortunatly 12v each.:grumpy: Because of this I have decided to use two usb ports. Giving twice the voltage and twice the amps.

I am not sure if I should put the fans in parallel or series. I understand the resistance difference between parallel/series but i'm not sure what that's actually going to do to to the fans. (ie: heat them up, shorten their life) The powersource is very sensitive (a computer lol) and I don't want to mess it up.

The other question is.. I want to make sure the power is smooth to these fans so I figure i'll put a capacitor in the circuit. I'm not sure where to put it or what size to use. My voltage is pretty low so it will probably need an average sized one.

(Sorry if that post was confusing lol)

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jun 26, 2006
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 26, 2006 #2

Danger

Gold Member

I know that there must be some reason that you chose to do it this way, but might I suggest that you just buy a couple of USB fans? They don't cost much, and they're designed to run directly from the ports.

4. Jun 26, 2006 #3
    ah yes, the easy way out... :wink: :wink: lol.

I am an industrial design major and I am interested in developing computer peripherals.

The current project I am building calls for the circuits displayed above. Standard USB fans are meant for size and portability, not what I need them for.

I am opting for USB power because i've never done it before and it's pretty easy to do.. just.. limited, and I like a challenge.:biggrin:

5. Jun 26, 2006 #4

NoTime

Science Advisor