Classes preparing for Applied Mathematics

In summary, it would be most beneficial for you to take all of the classes mentioned as they will provide a well-rounded preparation for applied mathematics in college.
JCompton
Hello, I'm a high school student with a preference for math. I want to go into applied mathematics. I have gone through AP Stats and Calc BC, as well as Multivariable Calc and Linear Algebra, also APC/IBHL Physics. I have original research done in biostatistics/bioinformatics and in application of vector fields in predictive weather. I want to take classes that would prepare me well for applied math for college, and my choices for senior year are below. They are all semester classes, and I have 3-5 semester-long slots open.

Original Differential Equations
Partial Differential Equations
Real Analysis
Complex Analysis
Modern Algebra
Linear Programming

(Of course, some are pre-requisites for others)

Which ones would be the most beneficial for me to take?

Physics news on Phys.org
Given your background and interests, it would be best to take all of the classes mentioned. Differential equations will provide you with a foundation in basic calculus-based methods, while partial differential equations will give you an understanding of more advanced topics. Real and complex analysis will help you understand the theory behind calculus and linear algebra, while modern algebra will teach you the abstract mathematics you need for more advanced applications. Linear programming will give you an understanding of optimization techniques which are widely used in applied mathematics.

1. What is the purpose of classes in preparing for Applied Mathematics?

Classes in preparing for Applied Mathematics are designed to provide students with foundational knowledge and skills in mathematical concepts and techniques that are relevant to real-world applications. This includes topics such as calculus, linear algebra, and statistics.