Compound Interest Paid in 3.5 Years: Regional Laws & Concepts

In summary, the conversation discusses different options for calculating interest on a deposit made in a bank. The options include annual compound interest, simple interest, and monthly compounding. The experts note that the default assumption is consistent markets, but it is possible for the problem to explicitly state otherwise. They also mention the use of force of interest in certain situations. Overall, it is important to clarify the specific contract and terms when dealing with interest calculations.
SafiBTA
- This may be a stupid question as I am totally new to the concept of interest. I don't even know if my question is valid.
- Figure is given below for referenceSuppose I deposit some money in a bank that pays compound interest on yearly basis. If I decide to withdraw my amount at the end of 3.5 years, which of the following amounts will the bank pay me back:

a. the amount accumulated at the end of 3 years ($450, as represented by blue plot)

b. the amount accumulated at the end of 3 years + a simple interest on this amount computed over 6 months
($560, as represented by the black plot; since compound interest is essentially the simple interest on the last accumulated amount)

c. the amount accumulated at the end of 3.5 years ($540, represented by red plot)

8ViTZlK.jpg

As far as I can think, it can't be c since the interest is compounded discretely and not continuously.

How is this problem usually tackled?

It looks like the amount depends upon the regional laws, but I just want to clarify my concepts.

Mathematics news on Phys.org
That depends on the contract you signed.

There is also
(d) $450, but you can get $90 more at the end of the year (where do you get that crazy interest rate? :p)

Annually compounded interest would be a. The black line never happens in my experience, and the red line never intersects the blue.

Likes SafiBTA