1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Computation for physicists

1. Sep 19, 2006 #1
    I thought this might be a well-used thread if I asked the following:

What computer skills do physicists use in their work? Please tell me what technology you have learned for whatever job you do. This questions mostly geared toward those of you guys out in the field, not fellow undergrads like myself. (:
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 19, 2006 #2
    I'm a graduate student doing work in the stochastic solution of chemical rate equations.

This is a purely computational exercise. The original code was in MATLAB, but I translated it to C this summer and obtained speed improvements of about 200x. Currently, we're working on applying evolutionary algorithms to pick rate parameters that give us the best fit to "experiment".
  4. Sep 19, 2006 #3
    matlab, c and fortran are widely used. how much and what exactly you need to know depends a lot on how computationally oriented whatever you do is. I mainly use matlab for data-analysis but all of the heavier computational work the theorists do at our lab is done in fortran or c.
  5. Sep 20, 2006 #4

George Jones

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

As others have said, C and Fortran for numerical work like solving differential equations, computing definite integrals, finding roots, etc.

Maple and Mathematica are used to do the above things symbolically, if possible. Sometimes an attack that uses a combination of symbolic and numerical computer methods is needed.
  6. Sep 20, 2006 #5

Matlab - great for visualising results, fast.
  7. Sep 20, 2006 #6