Computational Astronomy career advice please?

In summary, the individual is a software engineer looking for advice on finding more interesting work in astronomy. They have experience in various languages but are struggling to find job opportunities in astronomy. They are considering freelance or hobby work in astronomy as well as applying for positions with companies like Google or Microsoft.
bergw
Hi All! My name is bergw, I'm new here and I'm looking for some advice.

I'm a software engineer in the CAD business who is dying for more interesting work! I'd really like to get back to the interests I had back from college(Astronomy) but I'm finding it difficult even finding software engineer jobs in Astronomy and the few out there seem to put an obscene importance on a few comparatively niche languages that I haven't used.

I've got about 15 years worth of generic software experience with 10 specific to C++/perl/shell scripting, 4.5 in php/mysql/Adobe Flex. From what I can tell, python is pretty standard and a few places really like QTToolkit both of which I've played with but can't convince my current job to use.

So here I am, looking for advice.

Physics news on Phys.org
bergw said:
I'm a software engineer in the CAD business who is dying for more interesting work! I'd really like to get back to the interests I had back from college(Astronomy) but I'm finding it difficult even finding software engineer jobs in Astronomy and the few out there seem to put an obscene importance on a few comparatively niche languages that I haven't used.

If you (or anyone else) can find software engineering jobs in astronomy, then please send me a link to them so that I can apply for them. Most people in astronomy (including myself) go in the other direction and get computational jobs that have little obviously to do with astronomy.