1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Computational Astronomy career advice please?

1. Jan 29, 2012 #1
    Hi All! My name is bergw, I'm new here and I'm looking for some advice.

I'm a software engineer in the CAD business who is dying for more interesting work! I'd really like to get back to the interests I had back from college(Astronomy) but I'm finding it difficult even finding software engineer jobs in Astronomy and the few out there seem to put an obscene importance on a few comparatively niche languages that I haven't used.

I've got about 15 years worth of generic software experience with 10 specific to C++/perl/shell scripting, 4.5 in php/mysql/Adobe Flex. From what I can tell, python is pretty standard and a few places really like QTToolkit both of which I've played with but can't convince my current job to use.

So here I am, looking for advice.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 30, 2012 #2
    If you (or anyone else) can find software engineering jobs in astronomy, then please send me a link to them so that I can apply for them. Most people in astronomy (including myself) go in the other direction and get computational jobs that have little obviously to do with astronomy.

Astronomical programming is something that you can do as a hobby, but I don't know of many jobs for it, and the reason they put an obscene amount of emphasis on obscure languages is that they have to have some rational way of sorting through the resumes.

4. Jan 30, 2012 #3
  5. Jan 30, 2012 #4
    Twofish-quant, the sites I visit most often are NRAO, NOAO, Lowell, and STSCI.

Mal4mac, yeah definitely not holding my breath for anything. Thanks for the link to the UK position! I'll take a look.