Computer Engineering VS. Telecommunication Engineering?

In summary, the conversation is about a student seeking advice on whether to switch from telecommunications engineering to computer engineering. They are specifically interested in the research opportunities in both fields and have been told by an instructor that computer engineering offers more opportunities. However, another person strongly recommends telecom engineering, citing upcoming job openings and the industry's need for good engineers. The student also asks for online resources comparing the two fields.
Peon666
Hi all!

I need detailed and authentic advice on this subject. Currently I'm doing Telecommunication engineering and I'm in my second semester (so I have open choice to switch to computer engineering). Appearently, due to some reasons, I really have problems in deciding which field is better, computer engineering or telecom engineering? I'm talking from the research point of view. An instructor told me that computer engineers have more opportunities into research as compared to telecom eingineers. Is that really so?

I'd really appreciate detailed advice and if there's some online source comparying the two fields, kindly do let me know. I'd have thankful.

Thanks.

Engineering news on Phys.org
I vote strongly in favor of telecom engineering (of course that's the decision I made). Many of the existing telecom engineers will be retiring soon and there should be no lack of openings. Furthermore the telecom industry is undergoing some significant changes and will need good engineers to bring them about.

I can understand your dilemma in choosing between computer engineering and telecommunication engineering. Both fields have their own unique and important roles in the technological world. However, they have distinct differences and it ultimately depends on your interests and career goals as to which one is better for you.