Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is Computer Engineering worth it in this day and age?

1. Jan 23, 2013 #1
    Basically, I'm a sophomore at Stony Brook University and I was doing biomed but now I think I want to be a software engineer so, I'm trying to get into the Computer Engineering program at my school.

I did research and I learned that software developers/software engineers are growing in demand and it's a very lucrative field.Additionally, I've learned that comp E is a combo of EE and computer science. So, my conjecture was that if I can't land a job, I have the option of being am EE with CE degree or even being a hardware engineer. I know that computer hardware engineers are not as in demand as software engineers are but it still appears to be decently in demand. I also know that chemical engineers often work for oil companies and make a lot of money. I kept telling my dad that I've read the stats for the two professions and their salaries are in the same ballpark and I don't want to do chem E b/c I feel like I'm too far behind coursework wise and it'll take me 5-6 years to complete. I don't think I can handle such a long term commitment. Then he told me that I'm making a big mistake and I won't realize it until I'm noticeably older. So, to combat what he was saying, I looked up more stats. I learned that from 2010 to 2020 there will be an influx of 1800 more jobs. However for software developers/engineers, there will be an influx of 270,900 more jobs. For computer hardware engineers there will be an influx of 6300 jobs. This is one of the main reasons I chose computer engineering. Although these professions have similar salaries comp E and software engineering/development appear to be more in demand.